Update: More Crossfit

I have completed the introductory Crossfit course at Hybrid Athletics! They call it the “On-Ramp Program”, and it’s essentially just a chance for them to teach you the basics, one-on-one, so you don’t hold everyone else up in the group classes. Yesterday was my last day of the On-Ramp Program, meaning I’m now free to attend Drop-In classes at my leisure.

FRAN

Yesterday’s WOD was called “Fran”. I’m not sure who Fran is, but she’s obviously a ginormous bitch… The workout was simple enough in theory– it was a 21-15-9 of Thrusters and Pull-ups: 21 Thrusters, 21 PullUps, 15 Thrusters, 15 PullUps, 9 Thrusters, 9 Pullups. Complete that in as little time as possible, and you’re done! Simple. The only difficulty being that I SUCK at PullUps.

This is a pretty accurate depiction of how the PullUp sets went…

Perhaps you recall me saying how I only developed enough strength to do my first PushUp this year. A SINGLE PushUp. That was a big deal! So, you can no doubt imagine how difficult it was to do that first set of TWENTY-ONE PullUps. I had to break it down into sets of two. On the plus side, my legs are strong enough that the Thruster sets weren’t a big deal. I even added some extra weight to the bar, though I was a far cry from the recommended weight of 95lbs.

This is a Thruster (aka “Squat Press”)

All in, I landed in the 12-minute mark for time, with 90% of those minutes spent on PullUps. Safe to say that I’m rather sore today, and my arms feel like noodles. As with the day we did the Dirty 30, this class was a clear example of why the group setting works for me- I would’ve given up on those PullUps after the first two without the trainer pushing me. I might have to accept that, expensive as it is, the Crossfit atmosphere works really well for me. I’m too competitive not to push myself in a group.

Leave a Reply

