One Pound of Fat

Whenever I put on a few pounds over the holidays, this comes to mind. I have no idea who wrote it- I think it was emailed to me in a chain letter before the days of Facebook. It’s called, “One Pound”:

“Hello, do you know me? If you don’t, you should. I’m a pound of fat, And I’m the HAPPIEST pound of fat that you would ever want to meet. Want to know why? It’s because no one ever wants to lose me; I’m ONLY 1 POUND after all!

Everyone wants to lose 3 pounds, 5 pounds, or 15 pounds, but never only 1.
So, I just stick around and happily keep you fat.
Then I add to myself, ever so slyly, so that you never seem to notice it.
That is, until I’ve grown to 10, 20, 30 or even more pounds.

Yes, it’s FUN being ONLY 1 POUND OF FAT, left to do as I please.
So, when you weigh in, keep right on saying, “Oh, I only lost one pound.”
For you see, if you do this, you’ll encourage others to keep me around because they’ll think I’m not worth losing.
And, I love being around you – your Arms, your Legs, your Chin, your Hips, your Belly and every part of you.
After all, I’m ONLY ONE POUND OF FAT!!! “

Leave a Reply

